A surprise baby shower

25 Jul

We’ve all heard about the big baby showers popular in the US and although they’ve been slowly gaining in popularity in the UK in recent years my friends and I have never been massive fans. I don’t know what it is about them – perhaps a little too contrived, a little too organised and we thought a little greedy, especially when the guests at a shower seem to buy you a present for the party as well as one for after the baby is born.  But, my mind was turned a few months ago when my friends organised a little surprise tea party to help me get excited about Little Pea’s arrival.

I guess the difference with my baby shower was that they didn’t go overboard with fancy invites, favours and masses of ornate decorations but it was just an excuse to get together and have a good natter with an immense amount of cake.

Mr G was under strict instructions to keep me occupied away from the house for a few hours while the girls delivered their cakes and gifts and, under Dad’s strict instructions not to make me jump (!) only shouted ‘surprise’ quietly when I arrived back home.

The girls had surpassed themselves with the home baking – carrot cake, lemon drizzle cake, and some fabulous cupcakes as well as ham and mustard, egg mayonnaise and salmon finger sandwiches. Accompanied by big pots of tea and eaten off a beautiful china tea service we also dabbled in a few games including Guess Little Pea’s ancestors (some brilliant old photos of Great-Grandparents, Grandparents and Mr G and I) and A-Z baby name game (some great suggestions for Little Pea’s new name).

I had a wonderful afternoon so thank you ladies – it’s not often you manage to catch me out!

Little Pea Green

x

5 Responses to “A surprise baby shower”

  1. imagemistress2020 July 25, 2012 at 7:15 am #

    The cupcakes look divine… all the best with everything xo

  2. Lady Briggs July 25, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    Looks like you had a lovely time, any tips greatfully received, I’ve got one of these to organise soon. Perhaps a guest post by organiser in chief?? x

    • littlepeagreen July 25, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      As a starter for 10 I believe it was quite a feat to get most people together at the same time! I’ll see what pearls of wisdom they have to share :o)

Leave a comment